Wymyn

Standard

going over the list of bands as i am researching, buying and listening to their music, realizing that they are more than a little light on wymyn-folk.

don’t get me wrong, Laurie Stirratt of Blue Mountain is a MAJOR talent who i love, and there are other impactful women in these bands, but i have been jonesing for a mix and balance to all of this new music that isn’t so generally man-led.

i wish there were a few bands out of the 12 that were fronted by wymyn. some sort of balance. i get sort huge enjoyment out of music that is performed by both men and women. so on my iPhone shuffle, i’m always trying to get that nice balance of the two. or bands that include that (like X, the ultimate example).

here i am complaining again. i have officially become Wendy Whiner. today at work i actually said out loud to myself, if i could complain 50% less i will really reduce the amount i am annoying myself. i guess there is always goals, eh?

anyway, there’s a new song i’m now obsessed with. here it is.

Naked by Sera Cahoone

Feeling hopeless tonight
Seems to happen all the time
What do you want from me?
You know, because I’m feeling naked

Something changed me deep inside
It seemed that fun was left me tonight
I just cannot speak at all
because I’m feeling naked

Until it’s right, for now
I don’t want you around

All the reasons that I fight
How you take up all my time
What I say is the truth and all
But I’ve been feeling naked

About Erika Herzog

big music fan. used to work in the movie business a little bit. love weaving and knitting. own a banjo. haven't picked up the corn cob pipe. yet.

Comments are closed.